Rie Anders, author of On Island

In Your Next Beach Read, we want to introduce you to a new author every day in June in the hopes that you’ll find the next book you want to take with you to the beach, the pool, or the comforts of air conditioning. Today’s author is Rie Anders, author of “On Island.”

Where are you from?

Rie Anders, author of On Island
Rie Anders

My name is Rie Anders, and I live in Houston, TX. I am originally from the Pacific Northwest, and I made it to Texas via Honolulu, HI seventeen years ago.

How long have you been writing? How did you start?

My first memory of wanting to be a writer was when I was eight years old. My parents had a typewriter, and I set up a little “office” in the dining room where I could work. I proceeded to type out a short story about a rabbit and other forest creatures, convinced I was going to be the next Beatrix Potter.

Who are some of your influences?

I am a huge fan of Jill Mansell, Sandra Brown, Kristen Higgins, Nicholas Sparks, and Jill Shalvis. I also love Penelope Ward, Vi Keeland and Victoria Dahl.

What is your book about?

Love and Family; Evie Reid is an island girl. Her family is the most important thing to her and she has made romantic sacrifices to stay “On Island”. Ethan Archer comes to the Island and does everything possible to stay with her, even when the past poses a threat to their relationship.

Where did you get the idea?

Rie Anders' book, On IslandIsland living is unique. It can be peaceful and fulfilling, but one can also feel isolated. Evie says it beautifully in Chapter 11… “I know every road, every corner, and every secret place. I love the sharp, briny smell of the salt water, the fiery sunsets, and the musty smell of the earth after it rains…”

How long did it take you to finish it?

It took me about 6 months to write and edit. I saw the storyline so clearly in my head that once I started writing it just kept coming.

Is this your first book, or have you written more than one?

This book is the second in a series. I have also written a Christmas Novella.

We all like to write about people we know, even if we never name them. Who are some people who inspired characters or situations?

I would like to keep my friends, so no, I will be keeping that to myself. They know who they are…

What’s your favorite scene in the book?

That is kind of difficult to share because it is one of the most profound moments. I don’t want to give it away. What I can say is that it is the moment when Evie is outrageously bold. She has waited for Ethan for weeks, and when the opportunity arrives, she just completely exposes herself to him. It is raw, and vulnerable, and so captivating, you will just fall in love with her.

What’s the best piece of writing advice you ever got?

Don’t Stop.

What’s the worst?

No one has ever said anything negative or bad. I have a great support network, a great writing community and a love celebrating success; mine and others.

Where can we buy your book?

You can read On Island on Amazon. Rie Anders was raised in the Pacific Northwest, and has led a very colorful life, paralleling a previously successful career in the country’s aerospace program and corporate America. Leaving behind the nine to five, she has woven her knowledge of aviation, Pacific Northwest culture, commercial fishing in Alaska, and the rugged landscapes of the west, into beautifully crafted, happy ever after, contemporary romantic fiction novels. Rie lives in Texas with her husband and competitive figure skating daughter. She is sure there is a story in there as well, and enlists her daughter’s input on the daily drives to (and from) the ice rink. Topics range from character development to whom will play the hero/ine on the big screen, and what new song fits a scene to perfection.

One thought on “Rie Anders, author of On Island

Comments are closed.